Events

BA WMN Events

BA WMN sponsors educational and networking events in coordination with the annual meetings of the American Association of Physical Anthropologists. We invite members to suggest program topics, speakers, or activities at BAWMN Programming.


Recent Events

  • BA WMN Course Shell-Share

Tuesday, August 25th, 1-2 PM Eastern, 10-11 AM Pacific, 7-8 PM CET.

Gearing up for remote or hybrid instruction? Interested in taking a peek at how colleagues with years of experience with online teaching set up their courses? Join us for the first of the BA WMN Course Shell Share events with Drs. Kathryn Grow Allen (Visiting Instructor & SUNY PRODiG Fellow at SUNY Potsdam) and Shannen L. Robson (Online Instructor at Eastern Oregon University)! A “shell share” is a virtual tour of an online course. Drs. Allen and Robson guided us through the layout, structure, design, and modules of selected courses. BA WMN Steering Committee Co-chairs Maja Šešelj and Briana Pobiner facilitated Q&A.


Past Events

  • BA WMN Wellness Tea

    Thursday April 23, 5-6:30pm EST (Friday April 24, 7-8:30am AEST)
    Co-hosted by Tanya Smith and Lulu Cook, APD/RDN

    Join members of BAWMN to connect with each other virtually and discuss actionable strategies to maintain our health during this unprecedented time. We’ll share tips about staying resilient and balanced, with an emphasis on evidence-based tools to build a foundation of physical and mental health habits. Co-host Lulu –  a credentialed dietitian, health coach, best selling author, and counselor –  will answer your questions about nutrition and wellness.

  • BA WMN 10th Anniversary Happy Hour

Thursday, March 28, 2019–6:00-8:00 PM–Center Street A

BA WMN Happy Hour 2019

  • Mentoring Rings “Meet Up”

Thursday, March 28, 2019–7:20 PM–Center Street A

  • Panel Discussion & Brown Bag

Transitions: You Are, In Fact, Ready

Thursday, April 12,  2018–Zilker Terrace, 12:00-1:30 PM

  • BA WMN Happy Hour

Thursday, April 12, 2018–Zilker Terrace, 6:00-8:00 PM


  • Panel Discussion & Luncheon

How to Advocate for Women in Science

Thursday, April 20,  2017–Riverview 2, 1:15-2:15 PM

  • BA WMN Happy Hour

Thursday, April 20,  2018–Preservation Hall Foyer, 6:00-8:00 PM